Merthyr Mawr 5K Race Report

The 15th edition of the Merthyr Mawr Lane 5km where held in thundery conditions, which produced rain in the hours before the event, but if relented to leave a warm balmy still evening.

 Rory McClaggan from Merthyr Mawr Estate got the event underway and immediately Aberdare AAC vests were to the fore with the leaders going through the 1km in 3:06, by 2km (passed in 3:12) Adam Bull was moving away on the gradual climb along Ton Fruit Farm.

 In the ladies race, Ffion Higginson (who leads the UK u17 Women’s Steeplechase rankings) had to pull up in the first mile and team mate Georgie Dando who was alongside her, sacrificed her race in stopping to support her.

 The turn around the Candleston Car Park and climb up to the 3km mark (3:15), saw Bull away increasingly from his younger under 20 clubmate Joseph Reardon, which had extended to 23 seconds by the finish line which he crossed in 15:48, compared to 15:30 in last years event where he finished third. Pontypridd Roadents Simon Lewis took third in 16:43, ahead of clubmate Paul Graham.

 Meanwhile Melanie Edwards of Brackla Harriers came through to take the victory in women’s race in 19:45.

 Les Croupiers took the 4 to score Men’s team title, ahead of Bridgend’s AC and Neath Harriers, whilst Bridgend AC Women’s A Team, beat their B team ahead of Brackla Harriers on a 3 to score basis.

 Over 250 runners finished this popular spring midweek event that hosts a mob match between Les Croupiers RC and a combined Bridgend AC/Brackla Harriers, which was retained giving an 8 – 6 score since the inception of the Mob Match. For the first time the event hosted the South Wales Regional 5k Road Championships.

 Support from St Johns Ambulance and over 30 volunteers from the host club Bridgend AC and local running community, again made the event a great success in idyllic surroundings, with permissions from the Merthyr Mawr Estate, local farmer Jon Tudor and co-operation from the local residents were again greatly appreciated.

Full results available on available on

Photos, courtesy of Oliver Roche -Clarke –

Start video (Leon Evans) –

Next Event:        Merthyr Mawr Trail Running Festival – Saturday 16th June 2018 – from 4pm      

Leading Results


1st           Adam Bull                            Aberdare Valley AC         15:48

2nd          Joseph Reardon (u20)    Aberdare Valley AC         16:11

3rd           Simon Lewis (v35)            Pontypridd Roadents     16:13


 1st           Melanie Williams (v45)  Brackla Harriers                 19:34

2nd          Katrin Higginson (u20)    Bridgend AC                       19:46

3rd           Deborah Goule                 Porthcawl Runners          20:37


Men (4 to score)

1st           Les Croupiers RC               5, 10, 11, 15        41 points

2nd          Bridgend AC                       7, 12, 13, 14        46 points

3rd           Neath Harriers                   6, 8, 18, 24          56 points

Women  (3 to score)

 1st           Bridgend AC “A”               2, 4, 5                    11 points

2nd          Bridgend AC “B”                6, 7, 8                    21 points

3rd           Brackla Harriers                1, 13, 15               29 points

Age Group Winners


U20M    Tom Wright (2nd)                              Bridgend AC                       17:45

M35       Richard Jackson-Hookins (2nd)     Les Croupiers RC               16:33

M45       Matt Hurford                                     Les Croupiers RC               17:14

M55       Ian Bell                                                 San Domenico RC             19:28

M65       Keith Powell                                       Cornelly Striders               20:41


U20W    Sophie Evans                                      Bridgend AC                       20:40

W35       Clare Hughes                                     Bridgend AC                       21:09

W45       Cath Stephens (2nd)                         Bridgend AC                       20:42

W55       Julie Scholey                                      Les Croupiers RC               22:30

W65       Jackie Lewis                                        Cwm Ogwr RC                    29:09